Home > Random Thoughts > welcome!

welcome!

Hi everyone! Welcome to my first blog. I suppose the first entry is typically meant to give readers an idea of what to expect from future posts, right? Well, I hope I don’t disappoint you when I say…. I haven’t the slightest idea of what that might be, although my good friend (and inspiration for this blog) Amanda summed it up pretty well. She told me to write about “all things jenny.” So I hope you don’t mind, but I think this blog might end up being nothing more than selfish, creative outlet for the inner workings and thoughts of yours truly. After years of focusing on everyone else’s needs but my own, I’ve decided it’s finally time to think about Jenny!

I graduated with a degree in Magazine Journalism from Mizzou, with a minor in Textile & Apparel Management. The idea was to study both writing and fashion and potentially end up in NYC at a fancy fashion magazine someday (think Anne Hathaway in “The Devil Wears Prada.) Well, it’ll be three years in December since I graduated, and I currently am sleeping in the very same bedroom I grew up in and working at a local animal hospital. Yeah, that’s right, I am a 25-year-old single college grad living with my mom, and I spend my days playing with puppy dogs. Oh yeah, and I serve tables on the weekends for a little extra cash. Not my idea of successful college grad, but I’m working on it. I have some pieces of the puzzle figured out, but the rest is a work in progress. Baby steps, right?

That’s where the blog comes in. I gotta do something that relates to writing to keep my sanity intact. So join me if you’d like as I talk about… myself. Magazines, shopping adventures, music obsessions (can you say No Doubt?), Chicago happenings, nail polish, you name it. When I am not working, I am usually wandering around town shopping and buying myself things that I “need” like Essie’s latest shade of pink polish, and white capris because well, it’s summer. Plus, I usually have a coupon that I “had to use” or it was just “such a good deal” at Marshalls. In between shopping trips, I usually am stalking No Doubt online, reading Real Simple magazine, or playing Rat on a Skateboard (I highly suggest this game on your iPhone if you don’t already have it).

So join me (please!) on my adventures around Wilmette, my latest shopping inspirations, and my thoughts on current events, pop culture, and Gwen Stefani. Comments, questions, concerns, and suggestions are welcome and appreciated!

Categories: Random Thoughts
  1. Alicia
    June 10, 2011 at 1:42 pm

    I love all things Jenny! Can’t wait to read about your adventures.

  2. June 10, 2011 at 2:47 pm

    YAY!! Jennnnnnnyyyyyy!!!!!

  3. Jacilyn
    June 14, 2011 at 5:50 am

    This is so awesome Jenny!

  4. Jennifer
    June 14, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    Hey Jenny!!! Love the title! Go you!! I will peek in from time to time to visit your world. Wish you the best.

    God bless,

    another Jenni ( ; only family calls me that now ……mostly I just hear Jennifer

  5. June 14, 2011 at 3:12 pm

    Thanks everyone!! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

