Missoni Madness

Legendary Italian fashion house Missoni brought their eclectic and colorful patterns to Target today in the form of sweaters, scarves, totes, shoes, and pillows, just to name a few pieces. The entire 400-item Missoni for Target collection, the chain’s biggest limited-designer collection to date, was intended to be featured at 1,762 Target stores in the U.S. and online from September 13  through Oct. 22.

Turns out, shoppers today were met with what Target is calling “unprecedented” demand. By the time I hit up my local Target store on my lunch hour today, I was shocked to learn that the entire line was gone already. Yes, gone. Sold out. Snatched up by eager shoppers that waited in line outside before the store even opened at 8 am.

“There might be a few shoes left, if you’re lucky,” I heard an employee tell some other ladies. Naturally, I bee-lined to the shoe department to find this cute little pair of shoes sitting alone on the shelf…and they just happened to be my size 🙂

As I walked around the store with my precious Missoni find safely under my arm, I watched as fellow shoppers aimlessly wandered around with their jaws open, chatting on their phones in disbelief that the entire line was already sold out. Employees compared it to Black Friday. Even the website crashed: “Woof! We are suddenly extremely popular. You may not be able to access our site momentarily due to unusually high traffic. Please stay here and we’ll try to get you in as soon as we can!” the site said all day.

Although I’m disappointed I wasn’t able to get some most of the items on my Missoni wish list, I feel lucky to have at least scored my suede shoes and this cute little cereal bowl:

Items have naturally already hit eBay… I’m going to attempt to resist the urge to buy anything else, although I was really hoping to score a Missoni candle, scarf, makeup bag, and throw. Check out my Missoni wish list below:

//wish list//


So…what do you think of the Missoni for Target collection? Was it worth all the madness? Were you able to get your hands on any Missoni today? 

>>1-2, 3-4

  1. Alicia
    September 14, 2011 at 1:26 pm

    I went to the website yesterday after I saw your facebook post and I got a sweater dress for Mazzy. But…I got booted off the website when I went to check out and it was sold out by the time I got back on. I cussed a little bit. Good job on your purchase!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

